PirateBox using docker

This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Now, this forum is in read-only mode. You find details Details hereContinue on /r/PirateBox
PirateBox using docker
November 12, 2017 08:52PM
Has anyone tried to setup PirateBox with Docker?

This might be dreaming too big. But if this can be done, then people could run Raspberry Pi clusters in a docker swarm which would scale to handle more clients with long range wireless access points and a wide network mesh.
The addition of containers like letsencrypt, nginx, certbot may allow for offline https certificate validation making this project more secure and user friendly.

I am still pretty new to docker but if I can work out a way to network the container such that it uses a wlan interface then it should work. It looks like there are wifi-ap containers available for x86 installs.

Always looking for input so lets start a discussion about using docker with PirateBox.
Re: PirateBox using docker
November 13, 2017 07:33PM
Containerization is quite good for non privileged containers like a webserver.
For running PirateBox, you need to run a privileged container to run an AccessPoint.

But if this can be done, then people could run Raspberry Pi clusters in a docker swarm which would scale to handle more clients with long range wireless access points and a wide network mesh.
you should read a bit more about docker swarm, and what it is about mesh networking. Further readings here Mesh introduction.

It is possible to run the software itself in a container, but the UI relies on the initial redirect to a fictive domain- which won't work an a normal client with DNS resolution.

Anyhow, still interested in your thoughts
Matthias
December 30, 2017 10:15AM
I thought a while about your suggestion to create a docker image... and started with a first basic setup today.