Installing on a Raspberry Pi board

Posted by josephchrzempiec 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Now, this forum is in read-only mode. You find details Details hereContinue on /r/PirateBox
Installing on a Raspberry Pi board
February 22, 2016 07:16AM
Hello Sense I'm kind of new to all this I really need help I have a raspberry Pi A+ board. I installed the image on a sd card and booted to it as well i can Putty into it over the network i have a Usb to Ethernet adapter which let me go over the local network and a Wireless linksys card that shows up when it boots. But here is my problem after login Either though the putty or local to the system i get to do sudo apt-get update and i get this error message.sudo: apt-get: command not found. I tried to follow this install guide [piratebox.cc] and sense I'm not a linux guy i do not know what to do can someone please Help me out?
Re: Installing on a Raspberry Pi board
February 22, 2016 07:17AM
Not sure what else i can do I'm stuck can someone please help me out thank you.
February 22, 2016 11:55AM
Hey,
the current RPi images are not based on a Debian distribution like Raspbian. Instead it is running the ARM version of Arch Linux. The equivalent to apt-get on Arch is pacman, so updating your system would be done like this:
pacman -Syu
February 22, 2016 04:40PM
Hello thank you. I tried to follow these steps and so lost on how to Configure my Raspberry pi to work with priatebox. I do not know what to do What are the steps to Get it up and running Because I'm looking at the Pi manual page and I get no where with it?
February 22, 2016 06:39PM
Hi,
mh, you mixed up two different howtos.

We have a DIY howto, that refers to the prebuild images, which are the easiest way to install PirateBox on a RPi.
The other manual is the "manual" setup, which is for more custom made configurations, based on Raspbian.

hope that helps to clarify.

best regards
Matthias