Problem starting my piratebox- It's running but not "broadcasting"

Posted by Ironclad 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Now, this forum is in read-only mode. You find details Details hereContinue on /r/PirateBox
Problem starting my piratebox- It's running but not "broadcasting"
April 23, 2016 11:57AM
First of all I'm relatively new. I've liked the concept of piratebox forever but this is my first time trying to install it for myself.

I think it's a problem with dnsmasq but I'm not totally sure. I've installed piratebox, but I always get a fail message for dnsmasq. I'll start it manually, nothing changes. I stop piratebox, try to start it again, same thing. I go to localhost and everything is alright, it's just not "broadcasting" the signal for others to connect to, it's just running locally. If I'm not mistaken this is because dnsmasq isn't starting, right?

Also, how do I edit the SSID name? I read it's located /etc/config/wireless but I'm not seeing it anywhere.

For reverence, running on Mint 17.3 on my laptop. (Just trying to test it out before I put it on a dedicated system just for piratebox)
Re: Problem starting my piratebox- It's running but not "broadcasting"
April 23, 2016 04:05PM

I think it's a problem with dnsmasq but I'm not totally sure. I've installed piratebox, but I always get a fail message for dnsmasq. I'll start it manually, nothing changes.
Which error message do you get?
Did you disable & stop the default installation of the daemon?
dnsmasq is responsible for giving away DHCP requests and faking DNS answers.

Also, how do I edit the SSID name? I read it's located /etc/config/wireless but I'm not seeing it anywhere.
On a normal laptop installation, everything is configured in /opt/piratebox/conf , this particular configuration is in /opt/piratebox/conf/hostap.conf

best regards
Matthias
April 23, 2016 08:19PM
Oh alright. I'll check hostap.