USB Shared Files instead of SD card Shared files?

Posted by josephchrzempiec 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Now, this forum is in read-only mode. You find details Details hereContinue on /r/PirateBox
USB Shared Files instead of SD card Shared files?
February 24, 2016 02:49AM
Hello I been looking around the forum pages to use a USB flash drive instead of the Micro SD card for the Shared files.
So i looked and found a few But this one caught my eye i thought might work Other Post. But I'm a little confused on how to do something like this sense I'm still a little new to Linux on how i have to i guess mount the flash drive also how to point the Piratebox shared file area to the new drive?

Well my first confusion is how can i mount the drive so it can be automatically there on startup of my Pi? the Other question is how can i Move the Shared file location to the new drive and what folders do i need for the new Flash drive?

The last thing is even if i can get this all to work would it stay like that on the next bootup?
Re: USB Shared Files instead of SD card Shared files?
February 24, 2016 03:32AM
[piratebox.cc]
This should help. If not, let us know where you get stuck.

Note to, developers: I noticed this is fat32 formatted. Is this for "ease-of-use" in multiple OSs? Why not format it to something a little more native like ext4? Since fat32 is also limited to 4Gb/file, ext4 seems like a more viable solution. As I just discovered this now, I have been setting up my USB drive shares as ext4 and sym-linking with no problems.

PirateBox Installs:
2x Zsun's (both testing, one with serial interface)
A5-V11 (mostly for OpenWRT testing DIY)
2x RPi Zero's
(one active in car 24/7, gets a lot of hits at Walmart, movie theaters and the mall)
2x RPi3's (both home servers, one Ubuntu custom install along side a ton of other services)
1x RPi2 (currently work server)
February 24, 2016 03:42AM