Can't ssh into pi zero piratebox?

Posted by KarmannGaz 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Now, this forum is in read-only mode. You find details Details hereContinue on /r/PirateBox
Can't ssh into pi zero piratebox?
November 03, 2016 09:40PM
Hi,
I'm new to piratebox so please forgive me if I'm doing something stupid, but I'm struggling to get in via ssh.
I have a Pi Zero with a Zero4U 4-port USB hub piggy-backed on so I can plug in my WiPi wifi adapter and USB memory stick at the same time. On the Zero's GPIO SPI pins I've connected a Raspi.tv external ethernet port (HanRun HR911105A with ENC28J60 chipset), carefully wired to the correct pins as per the instructions on Raspi.tv and double/triple checked!
My micro SD HC card is a Kingston 4Gb one which I've flashed with piratebox_rpi_1.1.1-1-03-10-2016.img (took several attempts actually, but eventually seems to have worked ok and is reporting no errors from gparted and I can mount it and see the files ok. I've updated /boot/config.txt with a couple of extra lines :
device_tree_param=spi=on
dtoverlay=enc28j60
(I tried dtparam instead of device_tree_param too, but same result)

When I power it on, the led on the Zero flashes a few times then stays on, the leds next to the WiPi and memory stick both light up, and the ethernet port's leds flash as if it's doing something. The WiPi is working, I can see the Pirate Box - Share Freely on my wifi network and connect to it with my laptop ok, that bit is fine. My problem is that I can't seem to connect as admin over the ethernet cable using the suggested ssh alarm@alarmpi command, it just waits for a couple of minutes then says connect to host alarmpi port 22: connection timed out.